Welcome to Botswana

Botswana is located in southern Africa and is bordered by South Africa, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe. It is roughly the same size as France or Texas, with a surface area of 581,730 sq km.

Botswana uses the pula (BWP) as its national currency. The pula is divided into 100 thebe. The pula is freely traded and there are no currency restrictions. It is one of Africa’s strongest currencies. Notes are P100, P50, P20 and P10. Coins are P5, P2, P1 and thebe 50t, 25t, 10t, and 5t.

Summer is from December to March. High temperatures average 30C to 35C with lows around 18C and rain particularly in December and February. Winter is June to August. Daytime temperatures around 23C with night-time lows averaging 5C.

The official languages of Botswana are English and Setswana.

Botswana is on Central Africa Time (CAT), which is GMT+2 hours.


The Hospitality and Tourism Association of Botswana (HATAB) exists to promote, encourage and police excellence in hospitality and tourism in Botswana.

The Association is an umbrella organisation representing all sectors of the industry. Privately established and funded, it is the governing body for all its members.

This is Botswana is an annual guide to all HATAB's members and services. Click on the cover to browse the guide online.